No, the US has not tested more people in 8 days than South Korea did in 8 weeks

Mar 5, 2020
I am a doctor who leads the COVID-19 treatment team in Korea. I sincerely hope that Americans can overcome this crisis well. Americans are grateful friends who have always been a strong supporter when Koreans have difficulties.

Mar 26, 2020
If you watch the press conference, Dr Brix was the one that made this claim and President Trump repeated it during that same press conference, following up with a tweet on the topic. You are refuting the claim made by Dr Brix, not President Trump.

McF

Mar 26, 2020
Thank you, h4ck3I. I watched March 25 (where Trump repeats this statement, and probably was correct by then with one extra day). You are correct that this is Dr. Brix comment on March 24. Here is a link for anyone interested: https://thehill.com/policy/healthcare/489274-birx-us-has-done-more-testing-in-8-days-than-south-korea-in-8-weeks

Also, Dr. Brix's exact words are "Probably by today we will have done more tests...", so even she qualifies it with a very significant "probably". The spirit of the statement is definitely true, not false.

Shame on you, Live Science.

Mar 26, 2020
Thank you, h4ck3I. I watched March 25 (where Trump repeats this statement, and probably was correct by then with one extra day). You are correct that this is Dr. Brix comment on March 24. Here is a link for anyone interested: https://thehill.com/policy/healthcare/489274-birx-us-has-done-more-testing-in-8-days-than-south-korea-in-8-weeks

Also, Dr. Brix's exact words are "Probably by today we will have done more tests...", so even she qualifies it with a very significant "probably". The spirit of the statement is definitely true, not false.

Shame on you, Live Science.
Thank you for your correction of Livescence's reporting.

Mar 26, 2020